Taree Veterans Golf

Club Taree Veteran Golfers are one of a number of internal clubs within Club Taree; it is affiliated with the NSW Veteran Golfers Association. Membership is open to any golfer provided he is over 55 and a member of a golf club.

Total membership is varies from year to year although it has been stable at 70 or so for some years. The membership fee is $5:00 per annum.

Veteran golfers play their competition primarily on Monday Mornings, hitting off between 7:15 and 7:45 am. Events vary throughout the year with just under half the events played over the full course (par 70) and the remainder twice around the holes on the club house side of the course. Generally the first competition round each month is over the full course followed by a BBQ at a nominal additional cost.

Both the “full course” and the “club house course” are fully rated and each game contributes in the normal way to the Golf Link maintained [Slope] handicap system.

Golf competition fees are set at a reasonable level; competition and presentation is normally complete by 12:45 to 1:00 pm.

Six of veteran golfer clubs in the Lower North Coast District (Taree, Wauchope, Tallwoods, Forster Tuncurry, Wingham and Harrington Waters) have their own Open Day during the course of the year to which all Taree Veteran Golfers are welcome.

From October 2019, together with Harrington Veterans and Tallwoods Veterans, Taree Veterans have hosted the Great Lakes/Manning Valley Veterans Golfers Association Week of golf. Our allocated day is the Tuesday in any one such “Week of Golf”.

Somehow or another there is a chemistry about veteran golfers that contribute greatly to good fellowship and golf with no pressure.

Remember: The only criteria for becoming a Veteran Golfer at Club Taree Golf is that you are a member of a golf club affiliated with the NSW Golf Association and over 55 years of age.

Come and join us.

For enquiries please phone Captain John Daly 0427 508 493 in case we are playing away.

Committee Members

PresidentMr Ian Davy
CaptainMr John Daly
Vice CaptainMr Bob Thompson
Secretary / TreasurerMr Bruce Walker
Committee MemberMr Noel Brown
Committee MemberMr Barry Ottaway
Committee MemberMr Michael Parker
Committee MemberMr Ian Vernon